DOMO ARIGATO, MR. ROBOTO

This weekend we hosted a party for B3’s first birthday! Its hard to believe its been a year already, but time does fly. Except when you’re up with a restless child at 3am. Then time goes really, really slowly…but I digress… The thing I like about first birthdays is that you can do whatever the hell you want. One-year-olds don’t really have things they’re into yet, and even if they do, they can’t tell you what they are. So really, first birthday parties are more about what the parents like. I really like making fun cakes for the kids birthdays. So with nothing particular in mind, I headed over to pinterest for some ideas. I considered a Very Hungry Caterpillar, a Dragon, and various cookie monster cakes, but none of them really spoke to me. Then I happened upon this little guy!  If you know me, then its no secret that I’ve got a “thing” for cool robots. and since this party was all about me, I thought, “PERFECT!!” So here’s how it went down: Simple chocolate and vanilla cake from a mix (a layer of each) Wilton buttercream frosting (x3 recipie!) M&Ms (regular and mini) Oreos (Regular and fudge dipped)

Mix all that together, and VIOLA!

DOMO ARIGATO
DOMO ARIGATO

I had fun making the dials, guages, and rivets.

Dials and guages
Dials and guages

I loved it and B3  enjoyed eating it, but couldn’t have cared less what it looked like. (I mean, he’s a baby!).

B3 approved
mmmmmmmmm
Poor little guy.
Poor little guy.
Leave a Reply

